Review of Incendiary (The Premonition Series Volume 4)

The blurb:

Cold, fine drops of rain fall softly on my cheeks as I emerge from the darkness of the ship’s interior to the gray, overcast sky of the main deck. Pulling my dark pea coat tighter to my body, the wind lifts red tendrils of my hair. I walk slowly to the railing overlooking the water. 

I catch my first sight of the Irish coastline; its craggy landscape makes me shiver in dread. I find it difficult to imagine now how the Gancanagh had made this their home for so long without anyone realizing it. The cold, moss-covered edifices practically scream their presence. As I study the shadows between the falling-down stone, I imagine creeping shapes of undead Faeries grasping the rock, waiting for our ship to draw nearer to their position. 

Tipping my face up, I let the rain wash over me. It bathes away the frigid sweat of fear that has broken on my brow. “You don’t know how fiercely beautiful you are, do you?” A quiet voice behind me asks, causing me to stiffen and fix my eyes on the rocks along the shoreline.

First off, I love love love this series!  The first book introduces us to Evie, who starts evolving from a regular human to an angel.  As the series progresses, others are introduced and she realizes she is the only of her kind, which attracts both fallen and divine angels, as she is an enigma.  Reading about angels is my favorite, and I’m actually working on my own series involving angels as well.

Anyway, back to the review.  Loved this book!  It was longer than the others, and Evie finally meets her father.  The reunion is not quite what she pictured, but does put her life in perspective.  Russell, her human soul mate, is also introduced to a female he apparently knew from Paradise.  This book answers some questions about Evie and Russell’s situation, but still leaves the main mission as questionable.

I was really glad that there was something else for Russell, even if he doesn’t understand immediately.  I was wondering how the author was going to work that in, and I was very satisfied with how it was written.  The series continues on with the next installment, Iniquity, to be released soon, hopefully!!!

The love stories in this series are great.  There are always challenges and situations that keep you on the edge of your seat as to how they will get resolved.  I highly recommend reading this series.  I love Amy Bartol’s interpretation of the angels and Paradise.

I give it 5 out of 5 stars!!!

Leave a Reply

