Review of Oppressed An Arelia Larue Novel #4

Blurb:

Down in New Orleans, Arelia LaRue ventures further into the world of les mysteries and comes face to face with secrets that threaten to turn her entire world upside down. 

A tragically painful past is revisited… Secrets are revealed… And enemies are exposed… 

In the intoxicating world of New Orleans Voodoo/Hoodoo expect the unexpected.

This is the 4th book in the Arelia LaRue Series
It follows
Bound
Punished
Possessed

I’ve always been interested in historical accounts of such things as voodoo/hoodoo.  The novel takes a different approach than the others.  A majority of the novel is set in the 1850’s as a different character.  The author, Kira Saito, notes at the end of the novel that, while Oppressed is a work of fiction, the historical aspects of the story are based on facts.  It was fascinating and heartbreaking to read these things.  We all know some history, but to live it as a character brings it to a whole new level.

The novel itself was pretty good.  There are several editing errors that really bothered me.  I understand some errors-we aren’t perfect!  But, this had several, and in some areas, the errors took away from the story.  That could just be my personality coming out, but it was frustrating.

In this novel, Arelia learns more about the Lucus/Louis issue and the very end of the book explains what exactly happened.  It was a surprise and not what I expected.  There was much more detail in this novel-so much so that you could almost taste and smell New Orleans in the 1850’s.  I am a details person.  With that said, there were several parts that had too much detail.  I did skim over a few areas because they seemed repetitive in the descriptions.

I’m still up in the air on a rating for this novel.  It did leave on a cliffhanger and I will purchase the 5th book, so that means it was good, right?  Ugh, I guess I would give this one a 4 out of 5 stars.  Almost gave it 3.5, but raised to a 4 just because of the history.  I’m not sure how much I enjoyed leaving the main characters in present day and moving to a new character in the past.  I like this series, but it has not grabbed me like so many others.  But, like I said, I will be reading the 5th when it comes out!

Leave a Reply

