Review: The Accidental Siren by Jake Vander Ark

Blurb:

Mara Lynn is the most beautiful girl in the world. James Parker is the ordinary boy who discovers her power. Set in 1994, “The Accidental Siren” depicts the joys and consequences of young love as Mara and James meet, shoot a movie, fend off bullies, and explore the potential of infinite beauty.

This is not my typical read but I love getting a deal, and this was free for Kindle when I got it.  This story is mainly told from a 12 year old boy’s point of view.  Well, the 22 year old is reminiscing about when he met Mara at the age of 12.

Mara is not a typical 12 year old girl.  You understand there is something special about her early on when James, the main character, meets her.  She is seemingly innocent with the voice of a siren that captures everyone that hears it and leaves them wanting more.

I’m going to avoid spoilers so I can’t say too much.  I will say I was pleasantly surprised with this book.  I was hesitant when I started reading it, but I’m between series releases so thought I would give it a try, and I’m glad I did.  The writing was excellent and the story was highly creative.  It pulled me in quickly and I read it in a few hours.  You don’t want to put it down because you want to know what is going on with Mara.

I will copy what one reviewer on Amazon said: This is not for the squeamish or easily offended, and not for children.  There are some violent scenes that some children wouldn’t be able to understand.

Overall, I really did like this book and would suggest giving it a try, even though it is out of my comfort zone.  I give it 5 out of 5 stars!  And right now on Amazon it is free!!!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Accidental Siren by Jake Vander Ark

Leave a Reply

