Review: Miss Me Not by Tiffany King

Blurb:

Miss Me Not is a beautiful story of self-discovery, forgiveness, caring, and love. 

Madison Hanson’s past demons have given her a shadow of an existence with little hope. With the sudden tragic death of a fellow student, Madison questions her own life choices, and is now forced to evaluate everything she thought she believed in. When fate intervenes and partners her with Dean Jackson, a popular “all around good guy” from school, Madison gets a glimpse of a life that is filled with sunshine that has the power to break through the darkness she has cloaked herself in. 
With Dean’s help, Madison discovers a desire to finally step out of the shadows, and embrace life and all its gifts.

Wonderful book!!!  Madison has been living in the shadows for 4 years, after she has ruined several other people’s lives.  Her father left, her relationship with her mother is non-existent, and her only friend lives in the shadows too.  This is a very serious subject matter-suicide.  The characters are in high school, and there is bullying.

After a student commits suicide, Madison starts examining her life and her choices.  Enter Dean-a tutor assigned to her, and an all-around good guy.  Madison has built her walls up over the years and Dean starts chipping them away.  As she and Dean get closer, she sees a side of life she has never known.  Unfortunately, I knew what was likely to happen to another character in the book due to this relationship.  But, that did not make it any easier.

I seriously cried while reading Miss Me Not.  Tiffany King does a great job of bringing you in with the characters and their lives.  I got this book on Amazon for free, since I really enjoyed the Saving Angels books.  This is nothing like those books-nothing paranormal.

I think this would be a great book for teens to read.  It would help them understand that there are other options out there if they are considering suicide.  It made me reflect on a my high school days, and a boy in my class committed suicide.  I went to school with him since elementary but we weren’t friends.  I remember dancing with him at our 6th grade dance-he asked me, but I didn’t want to.  A teacher pressured me into dancing with him.  I feel so guilty now thinking about what his life was mostly like.  As a child or teenager, we are ignorant to so much that goes on outside our little bubble.  It wasn’t until I graduated college and worked as a child abuse investigator that I figured out his life.  That is something that has always plagued me.  It’s one of those “what if” situations.  What if I had been nicer to him?  What if I had taken the time to get to know him?  Over 15 years later and I still think about him.  I wonder if anyone else does?

Back to the book review-obviously this book spoke to me.  I give it 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend everyone take the time to read it.

Leave a Reply

