Review: Pulled by Danielle Bannister

Blurb:

Naya Adams has given up on feeling
loved. A walking cliché, Naya lost her parents in a freak car
accident at thirteen and has been living with her detached foster
‘adults’ ever since. When Naya enrolls in one of the most
respected theatre programs in New England, she is more than eager to
trade in her pain for the spotlight. College would finally be the
fresh start she’d longed for.
 
Unfortunately for Naya,
her high school boyfriend, and abuser, Seth, tags along–trapping her
in the cycle of tarnished love.
 
Accustomed to emotional
numbness, Naya enters her first acting class, unaware of what was
waiting on the other side of the door: her Twin Flame. Rarer and more
intense than soul mates, Twin Flames search for centuries looking for
their other half. It is in another student, an olive-skinned and
terribly scarred sophomore named Etash, that Naya will discover what
being loved really means.
 
Although they both try to
resist each other, their bond is ultimately too strong. Together
they’ll learn that this is not the first time they have been pulled
together, nor will it be their last. 
 
But how will her
abuser react to Naya’s new flame?

I actually ended up buying and reading this based on a recommendation from another author I enjoy reading.  After reading the blurb, I was really excited to read Pulled.  I am familiar with Twin Flames and Soul Mates, and have done plenty of research on both.  I was wondering whether Danielle Bannister was going to portray Twin Flames in the light that I am familiar with-and she did.  I was so happy that she grasped the concept and the difference.

I’m going to avoid recapping the blurb on this one, since it explains so much already.  Danielle did a wonderful job with the characters and did bring you into the story.  There was a twist that I did not see coming-actually a couple of them.  I was pleasantly surprised with the writing style, editing, and character development, as well as the content of this story.  It pulls you in, and while you are screaming in your head for Naya to do some things differently, you understand why she does the things she does.

The story actually continues in Pulled Back, which was just released and I will be starting to read that as soon as I finish writing this.  I do recommend reading this book.  For some people, I think the thought of Twin Flames may be difficult to grasp.  You just need to keep an open mind and heart.  It was not difficult for me to grasp, but like I said, I’ve already researched Twin Flames, Soul Mates, etc.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

