Review: Devour (Warm Delicacy Series, Book 3) by Megan Duncan

Blurb:

You never know how strong you are until something makes you choose between humanity, and the beast.

As Claire descended deep into the ancient tomb; laying to rest the bodies of the fallen, she wondered if time healed all wounds, would an eternity be long enough? Still recovering from a brutal attack that nearly killed her, she refused to let evil win. Pain and destruction glared at her everywhere she went. Nothing and no one would ever be safe until Baal was not only defeated, but destroyed. Fueled by her thirst for revenge, she traveled with her father to the ‘old world’, seeking the aide of a long forgotten ally. Will their quest for help lead to their salvation, or is it only the first step in their annihilation?

I keep a list of series that I like and wait for the next release.  I then re-read the previous books when the new one comes out so I can refresh my memory with the characters.  As I was re-reading the previous books, I couldn’t figure out why I kept this on my list.

Claire joins with her family, and they travel to another region of vampires to seek assistance to fight Baal.  They meet up with Titan and his followers.

Okay, I’m not going to go through any more of the explanation.  I was not impressed with this book.  There was too much filler and I found myself skimming a majority of the book.  It took me a few days to read it-which usually means it isn’t good.  I was so close to just putting the book down, but I did want to see the end.  So, I guess there was something that kept the book interesting.

There were several editing issues that really got on my nerves.  I really can’t say many good things about this book.  I guess the whole idea of this type of society where vampires lead and humans are okay with it is interesting.  It is a different take on many other vampire books, so that is a point in it’s favor.  Otherwise, it just didn’t do anything for me.

I give this 2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

