Review: Caged (Book 1, The Caged Series) by Amber Lynn Natusch

Blurb:

“I stood in the middle of the room, unmoving – I barely breathed. My life had just become surreal, impossible, and one enormous lie. I needed to go, to run somewhere, anywhere to beat back the reality that was rapidly closing in around me. The image of him was burned into my retina, flashing over and over again like a warning. He was trapped somewhere between human and decidedly not, and I realized that was my new reality.
I was too.”

After the death of her parents, Ruby awakens from a lifetime of shadows and finds herself alone, thrust into a world of lies, deceit, betrayal and the supernatural.
As her quest for truth continues to come up short, she realizes that maybe some questions really are best left unanswered.
When her true identity is finally unveiled, she is forced to choose between two of the mysterious men who continually seem to crop up in her life.
She chooses poorly.
Now abandoned, Ruby must learn to call on the darkness within to survive, or spend a hellish eternity imprisoned because of it.

(Content Advisory: language, mild violence)

This is my third re-read of this book, and I still love it!  I’m reading the first 4 books to get caught back up with the characters for the latest release, so I thought I’d review them each.

Ruby was born blind, but one day she suddenly gains her sight.  It is the day her parents are murdered and she survives.  She doesn’t remember much, blacking out during the situation.  She is saved by a man, who we later learn is Sean.  He befriends her, but she knows he is hiding some secrets.  She then meets Eric, and is immediately and unexplainably attracted to him.  Sean advises her to stay away from Eric, but Eric shares a story about his history with Sean.

Ruby then has to decide who to trust.  And, as the blurb states, she chooses wrong.  Finding out she is a rare breed of werewolf, and highly dangerous, she is thrust into a life she never even dreamed existed.  She now has to fight for her life from all different directions.  Another savior comes into the picture, Cooper aka Coop.

Ah, I love this series!!!  I highly recommend reading it.  There is so much humor, and I love Ruby’s personality so much!  The characters bring you in quickly and keep you throughout the entire series.  Ruby finds out so much about herself, and maybe she isn’t as weak as she thought.

I give this a 5 out of 5!  And now I’m off to read Haunted, Book 2 in The Caged Series.  I just want to hurry and get to the 5th book!!!

Leave a Reply

